Font Size:

International Council of Hides Skins & Leather Traders Associations



ICHSLTA is comprised of full members and associate members. Full members have full voting rights and represent their country’s hide/skin and leather industries. Normally associate members are individual companies where their own country lacks an official organisation representing their industry at home. Members share valuable country statistics with ICHSLTA and contribute to strengthening ICHSLTA’s voice on international committees such as the GLCC (Global Leather Coordinating Committee).

The Global Leather Coordinating Committee comprises ICHSLTA, the International Council of Tanners (ICT) and International Union of Leather Technologists and Chemists (IULTCS). 

The AGM is held at the end of March each year during the Leather Fair in Hong Kong. The association holds other mid-term meetings during the international fairs in Shanghai (China) or Bologna (Italy). Officers are elected for a two year term.


New executive committee elected for 2021-2023:

  • President: Toni BALTES (GERMANY)
  • Vice president: Dennis KING (AUSTRALIA)
  • Vice president: Nick WINTERS (FRANCE)


Current full members include:

  • United States Hide, Skin and Leather Association (USHSLA)
  • French Hides and Skins Association  (FFCP)
  • Australian Hide, Skin & Leather Exporters Association (AHSLEA)
  • China Leather Industry Association (CLIA)
  • Japan Leather & Leather Goods Industries Association (JLIA)
  • Taiwanese International Leather Association (TLIA)
  • WHL Wirtschaftsverband Häute/Leder e.V. (WHL)


Benefits of being part of ICHSLTA:

  • Access to worldwide contacts whether it be raw suppliers or tanneries
  • Possible face to face meetings with the major players twice yearly
  • Access to the latest trends and developments in the leather industry through ICHSLTA’s presence within the GLCC
  • An officially recognised place to voice your views on trade issues.

Membership fees are available upon request from the secretary.



1929-1947         Harold W Chadwick (England)

1948-1964         William E S Jotcham (England)

1965-1974         F L Johnston (England)

1975-1981         George J Potter (England)

1981-1992         William Carey (USA)

1993-1998         Michael F Johnston (England)

1998-2000         Gunter Hackmann (South Africa)

2000-2004         John R Gorman (Australia)

2004-2008         Pierre Bonefant (France)

2008-2012         Mrs Zhang Shuhua (China)

2012-2014         John J Reddington (USA)

2014-2016         Nicholas B G Winters (France)

2016-2021         Stephen M. Sothmann (USA)